Anthony Hopkins

What are we going to do Charles? What are we going to do?

We’re going to kill the bear.

What do we use for bait?

We lure him in. You know, Masai boys in Africa, eleven years old – they kill lions with spears.

Uh huh… how do we lure him?

And what one can do, another can do.

You can’t kill the bear, Charles! He’s… he’s… he’s… been ahead of us the whole time! He’s playing with us, he can read out minds. He…

What one can do, another can do! You coward! Do you want to die out here? Do you?! Do you hear me?! I’m going to kill the bear… say it!

I…

Say it! I’m going to kill the bear. Say it!

I’m going to kill the bear.

I’m going to kill the bear!

What one can do, another can do!

What one can do, another can do

This dichotomy between action and inaction is probably best expressed in this exchange between Charles, who is confident in their abilities to survive for a prolonged period in the woods, and Bob, who feels defeated after a missed rescue opportunity (a rescue chopper flies over their location but does not see them):

Did you know you can make fire from ice? You can make fire from ice. Hello? I’m talking to you… do you know how that would be done? Robert? Robert. Can you think?

You moneyed folks. Isn’t it…? Isn’t it?

Fire from ice, can you think how?

Sit up there, drinks and golf. Screwing the maid. But get you in an emergency… and you bloom! You make me sick! You make me sick, do you know that!?

I’m sure I do.

You fucking make me sick! What they hell puts you off?! Jews and taxes!

Fire from ice. Can you think how? Can you think how?

I don’t want to know how, Charles!

Do you have anything you’d like to live for?

You know something? You know something? Maybe we were right to let people like you running the country all these years, because you were the only ones dense enough!

No I’m not dense… I just don’t have an imagination.

(The Edge)

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

